Wanganui Branch


Lynley Fowler

Deputy Chairperson

The position is currently vacant.


Myra Wall

Membership Secretary

The position is currently vacant.


Hugh Ramage - 80A Nixon Street, Wanganui East 4500


Fees: $30 per member annually, $10 for Associate members

Monthly meetings held at various venues with speakers.

Meeting Dates

Usually the 4th Sunday of the month - February to November at 2pm.

March 24th 2019

AGM and discussion and photos of "Picnics of the past"
Sunday 24th March 2019 at 2.00 pm at St Andrews Church, 42 Glasgow St, Wanganui

April 26th 2019
Guided Tour by Curator Libby Sharpe through the newly revamped Whanganui Regional Museum

Friday 26 April at 11.00 am at the Whanganui Regional Museum, Watt St, Wanganui. Meet at the front entrance.

May 26th 2019

Meet at St Georges Preparatory School, now YMCA, for a tour led by Andrew Savage. Sunday 26 May 2pm.

June 23rd 2019

"The houses they lived in" - talk by Heritage Architect, Dennis McGowan on Cottages, Villas and Bungalows. Sunday 23 June at 2pm St Andrews Church, Glasgow Street

July 28th 2019

A tour through the historic Upokongaro Church and a chance for a walk across the new footpath and cycle bridge across the Whanganui River which is part of the Mountains to the Sea Walkway. Meet at Upokongaro at 2pm, Sunday 28 July.

August 25th 2019

Kyle Dalton will share with us another of his well-presented picture tours through Old Wanganui. Sunday 25 August, 2pm, St Andrews Church, Glasgow Street.

September 22nd 2019

74th Anniversary dinner a tote Grand Hotel, St Hill Street, 1pm. Costs and menu to be advised.